Day 46: Railton – Devonport: last day in Tasmania: closing the loop with Belgian style (45km)

This morning I knew that I had a short biking day ahead of me. Consequently, I took nearly the whole morning to prepare my gear for the travel to New Zealand. Several people had warned me about the very rigid biosecurity rules and the painful checks you had to go through when arriving in the country: all the camping gear (shoes, tent, rain jacket and pants) and the bicycle have to be free of mud. At least my tent, rain pant and rain jacket look as new right now! 😏After this extended cleaning exercise, I walked in the little city to enjoy the funny topiaries displayed in many private and public gardens of the town. I would really like to know how this collective movement began! 


Funny topiaries in Railton

Then, I went to a local micro-brewery called 7 Shed in hope to finally discover some good Tasmanian beer. I had a great time there with the owners, who had travelled in Flanders to visit Belgian hop fields and breweries. I was not disappointed by the tasting: most of their beers were quite delicious and I ended up buying 2 bottles to offer to my host in Melbourne. 

Hopssss!

Afterwards I had an easy ride to Latrobe, the last little town before Devonport. There, I completed my Tasmanian gourmet tour with the visit of the House of Anvers, a chocolate confectionery opened in 1989 by Belgian Igor Van Gerwen. Beer and chocolate, that’s the way to go for any good Belgian guy! For sure, I was going to find good chocolate there! Unfortunately, there were not that much products to taste, but the little museum displaying items related to chocolate was quite nice to visit. 


Bits of Belgian history displayed on old chocolate boxes!

I had also another delicious ice cream (chocolate and hazelnut) and I bought some chocolate to start my journey in New Zealand (yes, this is allowed!) and to offer at my last stop before leaving Tasmania. Indeed, when I was in Cockle Creek at the other end of Tasmania more than 20 days ago, Dale and Christine proposed me to visit them when I would be back Devonport before leaving Tasmania. I took all my time to cover my last kilometres in Tasmania, on a lovely road along the Mersey River, on a bright sunny afternoon.

Last kilometres along the Mersey River

 I arrived at Dale & Christine’s place at 16:30 and we enjoyed the delicious early dinner they had prepared for me. We enjoyed every minute we had to talk together about our lives, my journey around Tasmania and New Zealand (@ Dale & Christine: the kayak journey I told you about is the Whanganui River ;-)). I couldn’t have had a better way to end my Tasmanian adventure, thank you so much to both of you! It was so enjoyable that it was really difficult to leave, and I had to ride the last five kilometres to the ferry terminal in “time trial with a 40kg bike mode” in order to catch the ferry. Giving full throttle I did it surprisingly fast and was there in no time, but I forgot one of my water bottle at my host’s home. Who knows, maybe I will get it back somewhere somehow, which would actually be fantastic because I would mean that I would see them again!

It is with a pinch in the heart that I watched the Tasmanian shore vanishing in the distance in a beautiful sunset. Someday, I will be back! (as Arnold the Terminator says 😉 )

Bye bye Tasmania! I will miss you!

Back inside, I spent the rest of the evening updating this blog while listening to a talented young singer playing nice old famous songs with his guitar, and it was really what I needed for this special evening, because most of the songs he played are some of my favourite ones.

3 thoughts on “Day 46: Railton – Devonport: last day in Tasmania: closing the loop with Belgian style (45km)

  1. Salut Bernard,

    Je viens de passer une bonne heure Ă  regarder toutes les photos et Ă  lire quelques Ă©pisodes de ton pĂ©riple jusqu’Ă  prĂ©sent.
    J’imagine que tu dois trouver cela enthousiasmant et que tu es en train de grandir intĂ©rieurement Ă  travers cette “communion” avec cette rĂ©gion du monde. C’est du moins ce que je perçois dans tes commentaires et dans le rĂ©cit de tes rencontres. Cela me rĂ©jouit pour toi et me fait penser que c’est un “nouveau” Bernard que je vais rencontrer Ă  ton retour.

    Mais nous n’en sommes pas encore lĂ , heureusement pour toi 😉
    L’aventure continue et je te souhaite autant de satisfaction et de chance pour la suite. N’hĂ©site pas Ă  continuer de nous abreuver de photos et de commentaires (moi j’aime beaucoup les seconds). A ce sujet, je trouve d’ailleurs Ă©patant que tu puisses transmettre autant d’info si “facilement” en Ă©tant ainsi aux “limites” du monde. On te croirait Ă  cĂŽtĂ©. Comme tu l’Ă©crivais dans l’un de tes commentaires, cela peut parfois donner l’impression au lecteur que tu es Ă  la Mer du Nord, avec tout le confort, alors que tu es parfois dans des situations plutĂŽt prĂ©caires.

    Bonne continuation !

    Like

    1. Salut Gilbert!
      Merci pour ton gentil message! C’est vrai que c’est assez fantastique comment les technologies modernes permettent de partager l’information facilement d’un bout Ă  l’autre de la planĂšte. UtilisĂ©es Ă  bon escient, elles peuvent vraiment rapprocher les gens!
      J’ai commencĂ© Ă  Ă©crire mes aventures en Nouvelle-ZĂ©lande, les premiers posts devraient arriver bientĂŽt! 😉

      Like

  2. C’est digne du film Titanic ta photo de “clap finale”đŸ‘đŸ€—
    C’est une formidable Ă©popĂ©e que tu nous as contĂ© lĂ , merci!
    On attend avec impatience les tribulations nĂ©o-zĂ©landaises …
    C’est un super argument marketing les chocolats belges acceptĂ©s en NZ alors qu’ils sont tellement stricts 😁👌

    Like

Leave a Reply

