Day 22: Cockle Creek – Geeveston via Duckhole Lake: back to the North – my first disappointment in Tasmania (80km)

This morning, the weather was excellent. I could take all my time for breakfast and explore a bit further Recherche Bay.

Lovely camping spot / pétanque terrain!

Recherche Bay viewed from Cockle Creek

 Since I could not go any further South, it was time to go back North. In order to bring a bit of diversity, I planned a side-trip du Duckhole Lake, a flooded sinkhole that is now a very lovely little lake. Before leaving Cockle Creek I had another nice chat with Damien and Elaine (from Hobart) and Dale and Christine (from Devonport). Dale & Christine also offered me to give them a visit when I will be back there to catch the ferry to Melbourne, that’s so kind of them! Having to backtrack 20 km on the gravel road proved to be really enjoyable: going in the other direction, you absolutely don’t see the same landscapes. This is even reinforced by the difference of weather conditions between today and yesterday!

Getting to the start of the hike to Duckhole Lake was more difficult than foreseen: I had to take even smaller forestry roads and got lost once on a logging road. The hike itself was short but very pleasant, going gently upstream along a creek until the lake. I discovered a very beautiful and appeasing place and I stayed there longer than I would have expected. Up there I met a family from New Zealand (indeed, their accent makes them quite difficult to understand 😜). They told me that they had seen a platypus in the creek on their way to the lake. On my way back I looked carefully but unfortunately I did not see it. 

The track towards Duckhole Lake

Duckhole Lake

To get back on the main road, I had to bike another 15 km on rough deserted forestry roads. Progression was not easy, and suddenly I spotted a huge boletus mushroom, that in Europe is delicious in nearly all cases. I was so happy of this discovery, dreaming for the rest of the day about the delicious meal I could make with it tonight. Back on the main road I had a very late lunch (15:30!) at Dover then made quickly my way on the hilly road leading to Geeveston. 

My “fantastic” discovery

Apple trees in the Huon valley between Dover and Geeveston. It is nearly time to pick them!

At the campsite I met three really funny young people travelling around Tasmania with a motorbike (and a hamoc) and a van: Jonas and Michaela from Germany, and Ante from Finland. They invited me to prepare my mushroom on their table. I took me a lot of time to get it ready and then cook my spaghettis, and finally when I tasted the mushroom, it was so bitter that I could not even swallow it. What a despair! My dream of having a good meal had vanished in a few seconds, and I ended up eating bare spaghettis with some chunks of salami and hopefully a bit of sweet chili sauce that Ante offered me. This sweet chili sauce saved my day after my first deception in Tasmania. But after all, only one deception in 22 days and such a minor one, it is not so bad! 😉

4 thoughts on “Day 22: Cockle Creek – Geeveston via Duckhole Lake: back to the North – my first disappointment in Tasmania (80km)

  1. Tu prends des risques, manger un champignon … de cette taille en terre inconnue 💀, c’est peut être heureux qu’il avait mauvais goût 😉.
    Sinon les fougères sont impressionantes … on doit se sentir tout petit à côté.

    Like

  2. Haha, pas de chance, c’est un bolet amer, je me suis aussi déjà fait avoir! Ce n’est pas dangereux mais immangeable 🙂 Petit truc si tu veux éviter d’être déçu (car un dans ton panier ruine toute ta cuisson) tu goûtes un petit morceau cru du chapeau et si c’est amer, tu jettes!

    J’espère que tu en trouveras des bons 🙂
    Bizzzzzz

    Like

  3. Aie aie aie Les déconvenues mycologie empirique. Tu te souviens qu’on avait eu le meme coup au vieux chateau (bolet de fiel), et j’en ai fait l’expérience ici au Mexicque aussi,mais toujours avant de cuire le reste du panier…
    Pour t’aider dans tes prochaines expériences de champignon: https://www.tasfungi.com.au/

    Like

    1. Haha, je savais bien qu’Adeline et toi réagiraient à cette histoire! Le pire, c’est que j’ai goûté avant de les cuire, c’était amer, mais je me suis dit naïvement que ça allait p-e devenir bon à la cuisson alors que je me souvenais bien du bolet de fiel. Quel échec :-p

      Like

Leave a Reply

