Day 20: Bruny Island – Geeveston: new legs for a long leg – cider tasting (98km)

This morning I could feel at the first pedal strokes that I was in excellent shape. It seems that yesterday’s rest afternoon brought me a new pair of legs! The way back to the ferry terminal was covered very quickly, And this time I did not have to wait more than 5 minutes for the ferry. 

Leaving Bruny Island on a nice morning. View on Mt Wellington

Back in Kettering, I took a very pleasant road to Cygnet, with a 5 km long gentle climb (5-6 %). Progressively, the eucalyptus forests left place to more and more orchards. In this area and in the Huon valley in general, people grow a lot of fruits (cherries, apples, pears, strawberries,…) and vegetables. After 55km I had a huge lunch in Cygnet and I was so filled that it was difficult to get back on the bike. Yet, 5 km later I saw a signpost mentioning free cider tastings on the side of the road. I have always liked cider so I could not miss that, even if my stomach would disagree. I tasted most of the ciders produced by Pagan Ciders (cherry, blueberry, quince, pear, strawberry). Most of them were really delicious and I ended up buying a glass of pear cider.

Cider tasting: yummy!!

After this other gourmet pause, I had to cycle the East bank of the Huon River up North to Huonville in order to cross the river and finally head back south along the West bank to Geeveston, my stop for tonight. This part of the day was mostly flat and easy. I could enjoy beautiful views on the Huon River, where some rowers were training for a local rowing competition. 

Rowers and sailboats on the Huon River

At Franklin, I learnt more about the importance of maritime transport in the early times of the colony. Because the bush was so hilly and dense, building roads was really challenging. Consequently, most of the goods were carried by boat. Franklin was the maritime hub of the Huon valley and an important site for naval construction. Nowadays, it still hosts a rather unique School of Wooden Boatbuilding.

Nice wooden boat on the Huon River

Finally I arrived at Geeveston, where I quickly bought a zucchini, a salami and a can of diced tomatoes in order to make my usual “one-pot” spaghetti with zucchini, tomato and spicy salami. Once at the campsite, I decided that after such a big day, I could offer me a nice pizza instead and keep the zucchini for tomorrow evening. This would allow me to charge all my devices at the restaurant too. The pizza was not fantastic and the not-so-friendly owners of the restaurant just did not let me charge anything. Hopefully, back at the campground I could find a place to charge everything. I was then invited by members of a Tasmanian caravanning club to join them around their fire, where they were playing the guitar and singing some classic country music songs. Another nice moment shared with local people!

4 thoughts on “Day 20: Bruny Island – Geeveston: new legs for a long leg – cider tasting (98km)

  1. Elle est belle la vue avec les rameurs et les bateaux … un vrai air de vacances.
    Il semble que la majorité des gens (sauf le pizzaiolo ;-)!) soient accueillants et sympas en Tasmanie!
    Tu vas pouvoir démarrer – aussi- un Gault et Millau des denrées locales: chocolats, cidres, bières …

    Like

Leave a Reply

